Notre Histoire

Période Élémentaire:

En 1908, la Communauté Arménienne de Montréal comptait 6 personnes.Peu de temps après, d'autres personnes sont arrivées d'Arménie Turque pour s'établir à Montréal. Après la Génocide Arménienne, certains membres leur famille se sont également joints à eux, ainsi formant la future Communauté Arménienne à Montréal qui consistait de 50 personnes.

Au début de 1940, à l'Église Anglicane de St. John, périodiquement une Messe fut célébrée par Rév.Zkon Tcharkhougian, venu des États-Unis. En 1948, le corps Administratif fut formé par Son Éminence l'Archevêque Diran Nersoyan, Primat de Tous les Arméniens d'Amérique, lors de sa visite à Montréal.

 

En 1952, grâce à l’atténuation des lois sur l’immigration, environ 250 Arméniens ont émigré de Grèce, la plupart se sont installés à Montréal. En 1956, après les événements majeurs survenus à Istanbul et particulièrement à la fin des années 50, lors de la guerre civile en Égypte, un nombre considérable d’Arméniens sont venus au Canada. La troisième grande migration a eu lieu en 1975, au début de la guerre civile libanaise. Au cours des décennies suivantes, de petits groupes d’Arméniens sont venus d’Éthiopie, d’Iran et du Moyen-Orient, portant le nombre d’Arméniens à 30 000 à Montréal.

 

Période Structurelle:

Les Messes du Dimanche ont été célébrées régulièrement à partir de 1950 et les sous-comités de l’Église ont travaillé activement. L’enregistrement gouvernemental de l’Église Sainte Apostolique Arménienne de Montréal a eu lieu en 1957.

 

En ce qui concerne la multiplication rapide des Arméniens du Canada, en 1967, le Conseil diocésain des Arméniens de l’Est de l’Amérique et Son Éminence l’archevêque Torkom Manoukian a créé la Primauté suppléante du Canada et ils ont désigné Son Excellence Mgr Vatche Hovsepian, Evêque suppléant. Primat de tous les Arméniens au Canada, en ayant Montréal comme centre du quartier général.

 

Le Conseil Paroissial de la période élémentaire, par la magistrature de M. Khatchig Shiroyan, président, a décidé d’acquérir deux sous-bâtiments situés sur la rue du Parc , dans l’intention d’ériger une église sur le même terrain.En 1964, sous la direction de l'actuel conseil paroissial et de M. Arto Demirdjian, le président a formé le Comité de construction. En 1965, lors de sa visite à Montréal, son archevêque Syon Manoukian, primat des Arméniens d’Amérique, organisa une levée de fonds qui permit de recueillir 37 000 dollars pour la construction de l’église. En 1967, l’Assemblée Générale Annuelle a décidé d’acheter un terrain situé sur la rue Henry Bourassa. L'année suivante, lors de la Sainte visitation de Sa Sainteté Vasken I, Patriarche Suprême de tous les Arméniens, le terrain a reçu la bénédiction Patriarcale. En conséquence, les Comités d'Architecture et de Dames Auxiliaires ont été formés.

Établissement de la Cathédrale Arménienne Saint Grégoire de Montréal:

En 1969, à l’occasion de la célébration du 100e anniversaire du célèbre musicien arménien Père Gomidas, l’Église unie de Fairmount Saint-Gilles a été cédée, par l’intervention du Rév. H. Zarifian a annoncé que le bâtiment de l'église était à vendre. L'Assemblée Générale Mixte du 18 Février 1969, à l'unanimité a décidé d'acheter cette Église à 250 000 $. Le dimanche de Pâques 29 mars, Mgr Vatche Hovsepian a célébré sa première Messe. Les collectes de fonds ont commencé à s'accumuler avec vigueur, de la part des Arméniens américains et du bienfaiteur de l'UGAB, M. Alex Manoogian, en faisant don du montant total de 100 000 $, le reste a été converti en paiements de factures annuels. Le 20 juin 1969, les documents ont été signés par l'assemblée du Conseil Paroissial.

Le bâtiment a été construit en 1929. Il abrite 750 paroissiens et dispose d'une salle principale qui s'appelait principalement «Salle Marie Manoogian», du nom du bienfaiteur. En outre, le bâtiment a un hall plus petit au deuxième étage, qui a été rénové avec l’aide de la famille Karibyan, et dénommé "Hall Karibyan", accolé de bureaux, où, en septembre 1970, la première école quotidienne arménienne, A.G.B.U. Armen - Québec L'école Alex Manoogian de Montréal a été créée. L'Autel de l'église avec sa version arménienne a été construit par M. Krikor Mazmanian, bienfaiteur, de Boston. La conception architecturale de l’Autel a été réalisée par l’architecte Zaven Baykar, également de Boston. La consécration officielle de l'Église célébrée le 6 décembre 1970 par le Patriarche d'Istanbul, Son Éminence l'Archevêque Shenork Kaloustyan, par la participation de Son Éminence Archevêque Torkom Manoukian, Primat de tous les Arméniens d'Amérique et de Sa Grâce Vatché Hobvsepian. L'église a été renommée Saint Grégoire l'Illuminateur.

 

Période de Développement:

Au contraire, la possession d’immenses locaux a créé un lourd fardeau financier pour la communauté, grâce à nos paroissiens et grâce à la collaboration des Conseils de Paroisse et des Sous-Comités, il est possible de conclure les versements hypothécaires en moins de 10 années. Entre-temps, l'Église Unie a gardé un bureau à l'Église et, au lieu de payer le loyer, elle a effectué la Messe tous les dimanches, mais par conséquent ils ont quitté l'édifice de façon permanente, à cause de la diminution de sa communauté.

 

À cette époque, notre église a prospéré et de nombreux comités ont été créés et ont commencé à travailler avec vigueur. Parmi eux se trouvaient la Chorale «Komitas», le Comité Auxiliaire pour Femmes, le Périodique «Pourastan», l'École du samedi arménien, le Comité «Culturel Mamigonian», l'ACYOC, le Comité du Pain Consacré, l'École du dimanche, etc.

En 1980, avec la bénédiction de Sa Sainteté le Patriarche Suprême de tous les Arméniens, Vazken I, a déclaré l'établissement d'un Diocèse indépendant pour les Arméniens du Canada et le 6 octobre 1984, Rév. Vazken Keshishian a été élu comme le premier Primat des Arméniens du Canada. Le deuxième étage de l'Église devient la résidence officielle du primat.

 

En 1987, sa Sainteté visite le Canada et bénit le diocèse nouvellement créé. Après le décès de l'archevêque Vazken Keshishian, en 1990, son Archevêque Mgr Hovnan Derderian est devenu le Primat de tous les Arméniens du Canada, jusqu'en 2003. En mai 2003, l'Assemblée Générale du Diocèse Canadien a élu Sa Grâce l'évêque Bagrat Galstanian comme Primat du Diocèse de l'Église Arménienne du Canada, jusqu'en novembre 2014.

 

Actuellement, Mgr Abgar Hovakimyan est le Primat de la Sainte Église Apostolique Arménienne du Canada.

 

Après le développement de la congrégation, les tâches suivantes incombaient par les prêtres suivant: Rév. Prêtre Zkon Tcharkhougian, Rév. Prêtre Khoren Mamigonian, Très Rév. Prêtre Isahag  Ghazarian, Très Rév. Prêtre Vazken Tatoyan, Rév. Prêtre Ghevont Papazian, Rév. Prêtre Mampre Biberian, Rév. Prêtre Housig Nichanian, Rév. Prêtre Guregh Yetenegian, Rév. Prêtre Mamigon Oskanian, Rév. Prêtre Sahag Balian, Très Rév. Prêtre Zaven Arzoumanian, Rév. Prêtre Gomidas Sherbetdjian, Très Rév. Prêtre Shenork Kasbarian, Très Rév. Prêtre Bared Yeretzian, Rév. Archiprêtre Partogh Kherkadjian, Rév. Prêtre Zareh Zarkarian, Très Rév. Prêtre Ararat Kaltakdjian, Rév. Prêtre Vazgen Boyajyan, Rév. Prêtre Hay Ari Tanashian, Rév. Prêtre Yeghia Kervancioglu et présentement, Rév. Prêtre David Margaryan est le prêtre de la paroisse.

 

Au cours des 35 dernières années, l'église St. Grégoire L'Illuminator a subi des rénovations mineures et majeures, mais le bâtiment, agé de 75 ans, est soumis à des problèmes de rénovation coûteux, résolus par leurs bienfaiteurs, et aux dons cordiaux des paroissiens.

Soyez Inspiré
Église Arménienne Apostolique Saint Grégoire L'Illuminateur

(514) 279-3066

615 Avenue Stuart

Outremont, QC H2V 3H2

Écrivez Nous

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

©2018-2058 by Saint Gregory Church.

Our Story

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Elementary period:

In 1908, the Armenian inhabitants were consisted of 6 single young persons in Montreal. Soon afterwards, other young persons came from Turkish Armenia to join them. After the Armenian Genocide, some of the group of their relatives also joined them, by forming the future Armenian community of Montreal, consisting of 50 people.

 

In the beginning of 1940, in oratory disposed on behalf of St. John’s the Anglican Church, periodically Mass was performed, by Rev. Fr. Zkon Tcharkhougian visiting from the United States. In 1948, the Administrative body has formed by His Eminence Archbishop Diran Nersoyan, Primate of all Armenians in America, during his visitation to Montreal.

 

In 1952, by mitigation of the immigration laws, approximately 250 Armenians were migrated from Greece, the majority were settled in Montreal. In 1956, after the major occurrences in Istanbul, and especially in the late 1950’s, during civil war in Egypt, the enormous number of Armenians were came to Canada. The third numerous migration was held in 1975, when the Lebanese civil war has started. The next decades continuously, small groups of Armenians came from Ethiopia, Iran, and Middle East, by making the number of Armenians 30,000 in Montreal.

 

Structural period:

The Sunday Masses were performed regularly starting by 1950’s, and the sub-committees of the Church worked actively. The governmental registration of the Armenian Holy Apostolic Church of Montreal took place in 1957.

 

Successively, in regard of the swift multiplication of the Canadian Armenians, in 1967, the Diocesan Council of the Eastern Armenians of America and His Eminence Archbishop Torkom Manoukian has established, the Substitute Primacy of Canada, and they denoted His Grace Bishop Vatche Hovsepian, Substitute Primate of all Armenians in Canada, by having Montreal as the headquarters’ center.

 

The Parish Council of the elementary period, by magistracy of Mr. Khatchig Shiroyan, Chairman, took decision to purchase two sub buildings existing on the Parc Avenue street, having the intention to erect a Church, in the future on the same land. In 1964, under the leadership of the present Parish Council and Dr. Arto Demirdjian, Chairman has formed the Construction committee. In 1965, His Eminence Archbishop Syon Manoukian, Primate of Armenians in America, during his visitation to Montreal, he raised a fundraising event, from which 37,000 dollars were raised for the construction of the Church. In 1967, the Annual General Meeting decide to purchase a piece of land, existing on Henry Bourassa Street. The next year, during the holy visitation of His Holiness Vasken I, Supreme Patriarch of all Armenians, the land received the Patriarchal blessing. Consequently, the Architectures’, and the Ladies Auxiliary Committees were formed.

 

The Establishment of St. Gregory Armenian Cathedral of Montreal:

In 1969, for the celebration of 100th Anniversary of the famous Armenian musician Father Gomidas, the Fairmount St. Gilles United Church has been disposed, by the intervention of Rev. Fr. H. Zarifian, by the meantime announced that the Church building was for sale. The Annual General Meeting of February 18, 1969, unanimously decided to purchase that Church in $250,000. On Easter Sunday, March 29, Bishop Vatche Hovsepian has performed his first Mass. The Fundraising donations started to accumulate vigorously, by the Armenian Americans, and the benefactor of A.G.B.U., Mr. Alex Manoogian has accomplished, by donating the completed amount of $100,000, the rest was converted into annual bill payments. On June 20, 1969 the documents has been signed by the Parish Council assembly.

 

The building was erected in 1929. It holds 750 parishioners, and has a main hall, which was mainly, entitled “Marie Manoogian” Hall, the name of the benefactor. Also, the building has smaller hall on the second floor, which was renovated by the contribution of Karibyan family, and so called “Karibyan Hall’, adjoined with offices, where in September, 1970, the first Armenian daily school, A.G.B.U. Armen – Quebec Alex Manoogian School of Montreal was established. The Altar of the Church with its Armenian version was constructed, by benefactor Mr. Krikor Mazmanian, from Boston. The altar’s architectural design was made by Architect Zaven Baykar, also from Boston. The official consecration of the Church held on December 6, 1970 by the Patriarch of Istanbul, His Eminence Archbishop Shenork Kaloustyan, by the participation of His Eminence Archbishop Torkom Manoukian, Primate of all Armenians in America, and his Grace Bishop Vatche Hobvsepian. The Church renamed St. Gregory the Illuminator.

 

Development period:

On the contrary, by owning a huge premises created heavy financial burden on the community, thanks to our parishioners, and with the help of consecutive Parish Councils’ and Sub – Committees’ collaboration,  it becomes possible to conclude the mortgage payments in less than 10 years. In the meantime, the United Church kept an office at the Church, and instead of paying rental price, every Sunday they performed their Mass, but consequently they left the building permanently, by the cause of dwindling of their community.

 

At this time, our Church flourished and many committees were created, and started working vigorously. Among them were “Komitas” Choir, Ladies Auxiliary Committee, “Pourastan” periodical, Saturday Armenian School, “Mamigonian Cultural” Committee, ACYOC, Consecrated Bread Committee, and Sunday School etc.

 

In 1980, with the blessing of His Holiness Vazken I Supreme Patriarch of All Armenians, was declared to establish an independent Diocese for Canadian Armenians, and on October 6, 1984 Very Rev. Vazken Keshishian was elected as the first Primate of Armenians of Canada, and the second floor of the Church becomes the official residence of the primate.

 

In 1987, his Holiness visits Canada and blesses the newly established Diocese. After the passing away of Archbishop Vazken Keshishian, in 1990, His Eminence Archbishop Hovnan Derderian becomes the Primate of All Armenians in Canada, until 2003. In May 2003, The General Assembly of the Canadian Diocese elected His Grace Bagrat Galstanian as Primate of the Diocese of the Armenian Church of Canada, until November 2014.

 

Presently, Bishop Abgar Hovakimyan is the Primate of the Armenian Holy Apostolic Church of Canada.

 

After the development of congregation, Pastor’s duties were performed by the following Pastors: Rev. Fr. Zkon Tcharkhougian, Rev. Fr. Khoren Mamigonian, Very Rev. Fr. Isahag  Ghazarian, Very Rev. Fr. Vazken Tatoyan, Rev. Fr. Ghevont Papazian, Rev. Fr. Mampre Biberian, Rev. Fr. Housig Nichanian, Rev. Fr. Guregh Yetenegian, Rev. Fr. Mamigon Oskanian, Rev. Fr. Sahag Balian, Very Rev. Fr. Zaven Arzoumanian, Rev. Fr. Gomidas Sherbetdjian, Very Rev. Fr. Shenork Kasbarian, Very Rev. Fr. Bared Yeretzian, Rev. Arch. Fr. Partogh Kherkadjian, Rev. Fr. Zareh Zarkarian, Very Rev. Fr. Ararat Kaltakdjian, Rev. Fr. Vazgen Boyajyan, Rev. Fr. Hay Ari Tanashian, Rev. Fr. Yeghia Kervancioglu and presently Rev. Fr. David Margaryan is the parish priest of the Church.

 

During the past 35 years, St. Gregory the Illuminator Church had minor and major renovations, but the 75 years old building, continuously adhere costly renovation problems, that were taken care of by their benefactors, and cordial donations of parishioners.

Be Inspired
Saint Gregory's Armenian Apostolic Church of Montreal

(514) 279-3066

615 Avenue Stuart

Outremont, QC H2V 3H2

Write Us

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

©2018-2058 by Saint Gregory Church.